Recommended Packages for R 3.x

sandwichWith the recent release of R 3.0 (OS X) and 3.1 (Windows), I found myself in need of a whole host of packages for data analysis. Rather than discover each one I needed in the middle of doing real work, I thought it would be helpful to have a script with a list of essentials to speed up the process. This became even more essential when I also had to install R on a couple of machines in our department’s new offices.

Thankfully my colleague Shahryar Minhas had a similar idea and had already started a script, which I adapted and share here with his permission. The script is also on Github so if you have additions that you find essential on a new R install feel free to recommend them.

PACKAGES = c("Amelia",
	"apsrtable", 
	"arm",
	"car", 
	"countrycode", 
	"cshapes",
	"doBy",
	"filehash", 
	"foreign", 
	"gdata",
	"ggplot2",
	"gridExtra",
	"gtools",
	"Hmisc", 
	"lme4", 
	"lmer",
	"lmtest",
	"maptools",
	"MASS", 
	"Matrix",
	"mice", 
	"mvtnorm",
	"plm", 
	"plyr",
	"pscl",
	"qcc",
	"RColorBrewer", 
	"reshape", 
	"sandwich", 
	"sbgcop", 
	"scales", 
	"sp",
	"xlsx", 
	"xtable") 
install.packages(PACKAGES)
install.packages('tikzDevice', repos='http://r-forge.r-project.org')